TPO-50

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people said that there are so many benefits to earn from learning history, for example, to know what has been done and what should not be done again and to know ourselves better by knowing the culture of our ancestors. However, other people said that learning history is unnecessary because it is not relevant to their study, or even life. In my opinion, I hold the position that requiring all university students to learn history courses is not a good idea, the reasons will be further explained in the following paragraphs.

First, it might take some valuable time from student and prevent students from mastering their subject areas. Every field of study needed much time to spend on it in order to truly comprehend the concepts of the study, and so does history courses. So, requiring students to take history courses no matter which field they are in would make the student need to share some of their time to prepare for the history class. Therefore, students might not have enough time to prepare for their main subject.

Second, it is likely that students might not actually learn some lessons from history classes if they are being required to take the class rather than taking classes on their own will. From everyday experience, it is highly possible that the expected result is not going to happened if people are doing things by coercion. Compulsion makes people acting without trying to understand the meaning behind it. For example, if a child is required by parents to greet relatives when they meet, although the child would do the "greeting behavior", he/she might not really perceive the importance of greeting at such a young age.

However, as mentioned in the introduction, some might argue that there are tons of benefits that one can learn from learning history, and if one cannot perceive the meaning of history at the time they are learning, they might appreciate it later when they are order. Yes, this is definitely the case, but it is not guarantee that everyone will reach this point, and for those who will not come to this realization, being force to take the history course in university would be a waste of time.

To conclude, I do not agree with that all university students should be forced to take history classes because there might not be enough time for students to study both their subject area and history, and anything happened by force might not work out in an expected way. History courses should be provided as an option for those students who are interested but not as an obligation for all students.