TPO-32 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The important decision of a country is made by the politicians nowadays, and whether young people have the ability to make an effect on the decision is a good question. Personally, I do believe that there is a potential for youngers to make a difference in the crucial decision which would affect the country's future.

First, they still have the right to vote. No matter how complicated the issue is or how others think that young people are just minority and/or not mature enough, they still have the right to vote and their voice will still be counted. So, in some important situation when voting system is adopted, such as the presidential election or things that go through the process of referendum, young people' voice will still be listened and have the potential to affect the result.

Second, they use social media to express their opinion. Often, young people are familiar with using social media, and since this type of media is getting popular and growing its influence, it is a good way for youngers to express their thought and try to convince others to take in their opinion. Also, it is a good way to connect with others with the similar thought. For example, the gun control issue that happened in the USA, the thoughts are expressed on the Internet and, finally, there were some marches went on and some students even had the chance to meet with the president of the city/state.

Of course, some will argue that the ways mentioned in the previous paragraphs are just minor ways and do not have much potential to have an influence on the society as a whole. This is possible, but do not underestimate the potential that social media can make, as the gun control example showed.

To sum up, I believe that young people do have the influence on the country's' important decision because they are familiar with the use of social media, which have the big possibility to influence people unconsciously, and will always have the right to vote.