TPO-43 - Independent Writing Task

Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade

-Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether to correct a teacher or a meeting leader in a meeting is really an awkward question. If one chooses to correct the leader of the meeting, he/she runs the risk of embarrassing the leader; if one chooses not to tell the leader that there is something wrong, the team will have to take the risk of not having the right information in the meeting, which might further affect the effectiveness of the team. In my opinion, the best way to respond to this situation is to interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

It might be possible that the wrong information will have a serious effect on the action following the meeting. Often, some important points will be discussed in the conference, as well as the following action. So, having wrong information be distributed in the meeting might seriously affect the effectiveness of the team. For example, if a team is discussing the actions required before an event (say a sports game), if the leader have the time of the event wrong, then the length of time to arrange the event would be either overestimated or underestimated. In this case, interrupt and correct immediately will prevent the team coming up with a wrong schedule for game arrangement.

Also, the immediate action of correction might create an environment of openness, which might further contribute to succeed of the team. It is said that in the successful team, the quality of openness to discussion is often viewed valuable. With open discussion, the team can have a plan which has been well-considered.

Some will worry that if we try to correct the teacher or the leader in the meeting, we will be seen as disrespectful. Yes, this is definitely true. But we do not have to correct someone in a rude manner. We can talk to the leader of the meeting politely, for example, "Sorry, I do not mean to be rude, but the date of the event seems to be wrong. It is on the 23rd of March".

To conclude, at the time the teacher or the leader say something wrong in the meeting, I do think the best way is to interrupt and correct it instantly. The promptness might prevent the team from developing wrong actions to a topic and could promote the character of openness in a team. The successfulness of a team is through the effectiveness and responsiveness to a problem or an action, not through the obedience to the leader.