Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

I definitely agree with the statement that in future there will be a lot less cars than there are today. In fact, I believe that cars would be obsolete in future. Everyone will be traveling via air transportation or even teleportation if the technology becomes advanced enough.

First of all, the transportation industry is developing very rapidly. There are already so many better, faster and safer alternatives to cars such as airways, railways, ropeways, sea routes, etc. One can only imagine what the future of transportation will be like 20 years from today. Air travel and railways are considered an ideal and safer way of traveling today. For instance, most of the people in my city prefer railways over cars. People believe that it is easier and cheaper to travel in a train rather than a car. One can relax in a train without worrying about driving or maintenance of the car or filling gas in the car.

The second reason that i believe cars will be replaced by something else is because cars are a waste of resources in compared to trains or buses. They consume similar amount of fuel but can only support very few people. This means they create more pollution and increase traffic on roads. Sure people love the freedom of owning and traveling in a car. But people are already conscious about the environment and how use of large numbers of cars is increasing pollution. In country like japan, we frequently hear news about how people are using public transportation and trying to decrease the number of cars on the street. Also, large numbers of cars means large number of possible reckless drivers who might cause road accidents. So people will be better off using public transportation in place of cars and i am of the opinion that slowly people are understanding this and considering to option out of owning their personal cars.

In conclusion, I personally believe that owning a car is a nuisance and they will be completely replaced with public transportation or air transportation very soon in the future.