Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years, there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

it is no doubt that since industrialization, the growth of motor vehicles hasn't stopped yet, however, for the next twenty years, I believe that there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

To begin with, I think the need for private cars will decrease as the development of public transport gets more improved. With more widespread of the public transport network, it will be more convenient to travel across the city, for instance, an underground railway usually takes less time to take you to the place you want to go than driving your own car in busy hours. To add on, the costs for taking public transport is also lower than driving in your own car, that you don't have to pay for the parking fees or gasoline.

Secondly, increasing awareness about environmental problems may also lower the number of cars in use. More and more people acknowledge how carbon emission from cars on the road affect our environment, and this has been an important international issue recently, it is not hard to tell human being are going to do something with that.

Thirdly, the tense on energy conservation, this has caused the cost of gasoline will increase in no time, eventually, it will be too costly to drive a private car.

Some people may say that more and more fancy cars or supercars are promoted by different car brands, people are getting more materialism than before to pursue these luxury items, however, I think this will only contribute only a small amount of number of car in use, as not many people have the money to pay for the expensive cars.