The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

Although having the extended family was a privilege in the past, but today because of changing the social and economic conditions having the extended family is less important.

To begin with, in comparison with the social situation in the past, people were in touch with each other and fulfill their basic needs based on this significance. Mostly, they were peasants and worked on their farm and grew their own products. So, they tended to live in the extended families. For example, my grandparents used to live in an extended family; they used to live with their parents, sisters and brothers and also their grandparents, uncles and even cousins in a house. This form of living had so many advantages, whether the social or economical. The more members in a family was the meaning of the more labors for working on the land.

But today the condition has totally changed; people are busy and they do not have time to investigate and take care of an extended family. The technology has developed and everybody can take care of his needs. Today, people rely on technology more than other people to fulfill their requirements. For instance, I am in contact with my mom from the long distance through the internet. By means of the internet and the broadcast, I fulfill my mental and physical needs.

To put the issues into a nutshell, based on the social and economical alterations, people tend to have a family that they can take care of it. In spite of the past the extended family is not economical anymore and it is less important that it was.