The extended family(grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Family is indeed an essential part in anyone's life as it not only supports us but also guides us when we are wrong. It is always there with us regardless of any situation. However, nowadays, Family size is tremendously changing as people are getting more engaged in their hectic lifestyles. There is a constant debate whether extended family - grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles- is less important than it was in the past. Personally, I am of the opinion that the value of extended family has degraded over the last few decades. I believe this for two main reasons, which I have explained in the following essay.

First of all, people living in metropolitan cities are too busy with their work-life that they don't have time for their own kids, let alone extended family. Ceaseless work pressure, excruciating overtime and alarmingly low wages have left people with no option but to continuously focus on their work while neglecting family. Moreover, many even shy away from responsibilities of taking care of their elderly grandparents. They prefer not to spend their hard-earned money on their medication and health-care. And rather they would spend on leisure activities. This has weakened the bond among families.

Secondly, people nowadays prioritize friends over family which has increased distance between family members. For instance, people prefer to spend their free time partying, shopping or hanging out with their friends. Youngsters do not prefer to visit their old grandparents or uncles as they believe that they do not share anything common due to generation gap and hence, do not talk with them. As a result, the communication gap between them has also widened.

In conclusion, I hold the opinion that the importance of extended families has dwindled extremely due to the hectic lifestyle in urban areas and shift in priority from family to friends.