In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

In the 21st century, cars have become an integral part of society and are considered as necessary as commodities such as clothes, cellphones and computers. At present, in India, every middle-class family has at least one car while the upper-class family has a minimum of two vehicles. As the income level rises and middle-class families shift to the upper class, the number of cars is not going to drop anytime soon. Hence, I believe that in the next 20 years, cars will not be less than today rather be multifold. Several reasons support my position.

Firstly, although inter-city travel has become more common than before, public transport has not improved at a similar pace. As public transport requires thousands of approvals and the government changes every five years, it is highly unlikely that public transport will improve. Consequently, people who live on the outskirts of the city will continue to travel by their cars to the workplaces.

Secondly, there is no immediate replacement for automobiles. Although scooters and motorbikes seem to be a strong contender to take their place and move people faster from one place to another, their use will still be limited. It is because they are relatively complicated to drive and at the same time are prone to accidents. This limits their penetration into the market, and people continue to rely on cars as their primary means of transportation.

In conclusion, considering the facts mentioned above and the current scenarios, it is not hard to believe that automobile will not continue to rise rather decline in the next 20 years.