Food in the past was much healthier than today

With increasing awareness of food safety problems, some people believe that the food today was less healthier than the food in the past. However, I cannot agree with this statement, owing to some reason like without enough the surveillance/supervision for food safety and less well-preserved conditions . They are illuminated as follows.

Admittedly, food safety problems can always be seen in the TV news or social media, which seems to indicate that the food safety problems become more and more serious. However, we cannot get these kinds of messages in such an easy way for the past.

Most importantly, the growing awareness of food safety problems today leads to the strict safety control of food by the administrations or even public opinion. And the quality of food is being pushed forward by those strict safety control of food, which cannot be imagined in the past. The situations in China may shed some light on it. Although some horrible news or rumors about food safety can always be seen in daily life, over 100 new rules or standards for different kinds of food have been set or developed by the administrations in recent years. And the food safety law was published in 2008, after some serious food safety problems were happened like SanLu milk with some chemicals, which leads to the health problem for the infants.

Additionally, the food in the past cannot be preserved well without enough the modern technology like fridge or pre-packaged food. Besides, without well-developed economics, my grandma told me that people in the past had to eat some ill-preserved or bad food to make sure themselves to get full. It is even in the era of peace and it would get much worse during the war time that people will eat everything which can keep their life in any ways.

Simply put, compared with the food in the past, the quality of food today is being well pushed, with the help of the strict supervision for food safety and technologies for food preservations.