In order to succeed, it is better to be more like others than to be different from others.

An ongoing debates exist as to whether it is better to be similar with others than to be different from others in terms of success. As far as I am concern, be different from others would be better for success, because the uniqueness and creativity are always the key to success.

Admittedly, being similar with others can be the less challenge and easier way in some cases, but there is growing and intense competition in the same industry or area with increasing number of competitors who are similar with each other.

Therefore, it is really hard to stand out from crowd without enough uniqueness and creativity. My research group may be a case to this point. Last year, we discussed which research direction we should choose. Because we are major in public health research, some members of our group suggested to do some health impact assessment on air pollution, which is the hot research topic all around the world. However, there had been too many similar research about this topic and satellite data to estimate the air pollution is novel and meaningful but difficult research direction, so I suggested the latter topic. Finally, my tutor agreed with my statements according to her rich experiences.

In addition, when we had chosen the way which is different from the others, it means that no enough references or experiences can be shared by the previous studies or researchers. Therefore, we had got the really struggling time in our early study period, especially facing the new challenge every day. And our search process was much slower than our planned, then we even doubted whether our research direction we had chosen is good or not. Fortunately, we found out a new technique to solve the problems out with long-time and patient research, which makes it possible for us to publish our result to the SCI journals. From this research, we had learnt a lot like independent thinking, the skills of cleaning data and analyzing the data and the "never give up" spirits.

All in all, I firmly reckon that the people should be different from others if they want to be success. And never be afraid of failure and challenge, because there are lots of skills and experience will never be got while being similar with others.