teachers are less appreciated or valued today rather than in the past

With increasing opportunities to be educated, the interesting discussion about whether teachers are less appreciated or valued today rather than in the past is on the air. As far as I am concerned, teachers may be less appreciated or valued today with the limit access to education in the past or some traditional rules in China.

Most importantly, owing to the limit access to be educated, the education was regarded as a privilege for the blue blood or the rich. The blue blood or rich is more likely to be polite and in a good manner to maintain their family fame. Also, the longer teaching period or number of students plays a role on more honoring teacher in the past. Unlike one teacher for one subject today, the well-educated teacher would be usually invited to teach children about all the subjects for a long period. On the contrary, nowadays, many teachers only teach a class for one semester in the school. Besides, the number of students in the class now generally is around 50, at least five times as the past time. Therefore, it could more difficult to develop a deeper and stronger relationship between student and teacher today rather than in the past.

Additionally, the tradition or manner of honoring teacher and respecting his teacher had instilled in Chinese mind deeply in the past. As an old saying goes, "a teacher of one day is a father of a whole life." It can indicate that the ancient Chinese regards the honored teachers as important as their fathers. As many people in the past did not go to school or read a book, everything taught by the teacher is so valuable that people cannot get in touch for a whole life. Therefore, the students will listen to the instruction from teachers as same as from their fathers, and thus the status of teacher in the past is really high. On the contrary, regarding teacher as important as the father seems to be too excessive for students today. All the tradition or manner of honoring teacher, which seems to be old-fashion, cannot be seen in school.

Admittedly, some teachers in the past could not receive enough pay for supporting their living, especially during the war, but they had received much respect and honor from their students, due to the limit access to education in the past or some traditional rules in China. For example, Liu Bei, a king of the country named Shu, took three visits to the broken cottage for getting the help from a honored teacher and smart advisor-Zhu Ge Liang.

All in all, it seems to be safe to conclude that teachers are less appreciated or valued today rather than in the past.