Teachers affect students more than other students.

Teachers are thought to affect students more than the students’ friends. This essay disagrees with this view, since young people’s interests vary depending on the age gap. Also, many teachers tend to present their material in a complicated academic manner, while peers can do so in a more apprehensible way.

First of all, many teachers cannot find a direct contact with a student mostly because they are a lot older. Since the age gap is noticeable, the interests are different. Adolescents relish various activities, experience different emotions, and most importantly, come up with different solutions for many problems. For example, during my sophomore year, I was faced with a hassle of how to raise my grade point average in data analysis. Even the discussion of the issue with my teacher was futile, as the response was always the same: “work harder”. No matter how much effort I put, there was no achievement. In contrast, a friend of mine who had had a credit for the class gave me valuable advice about to change my way of studying. Taking account of that recommendation, I achieved a good grade. Had I continued to heed my teacher’s method, I would have never handled that problem.

Furthermore, teachers tend to explain concept in a highly intricate manner, making the topic more complicated than it actually is. Unlike me, who grasps even the most complicated information, there are people who need ideas to be simplified, so they resort to their peers’. Teachers, obviously, are not going to assist here, so the students explain the material using their “own” and more clear language. Generally, the outcome of this situation results in the students paraphrasing what the teacher stated, in a way even an infant can understand. About a year ago, I was in a math class run by a teacher who was an eminent scientist but a poor instructor, reluctant to make complex concepts accessible. If it were not for my classmate who could elucidate algebraic formulas, I would have failed the class.