In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon. Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

People have been debating a lot about causes of increased humans` lifetime. Personally, I think it is because, these days, we have advanced medicine and technology. There are a few reasons why I hold this opinion.

First of all, progress in medicine has given people a myriad of of medicaments to treat a variety of ailments. Before the beginning of the last century millions of people worldwide died from numerous infections such as the Plague, tuberculosis and cholera . Nowadays, the mankind has vaccines and antibiotics to prevent and cure these life-threatening illnesses. When people had plenty of medicine to defeat diseases, they could live longer. My own experience is a good exaple of that. When I was a twelve years old child, I was saffering from pneumonia – a higly contageous, dangerous disease, but because I was given antibiotics by doctors in a local children`s hospital, I was successfully cured. Moreover, after the recovery, I was vaccinated from the disease in the same medical facility. As a result, to this day, I have never been contaminated. In this way, the modern medications let me survive the dadly sickness, and became a healthy adult.

Secondly, the contemporary technology has decreased the intensity of people`s manual labor. These days, we have a lot of equipment available to perform physically arduous for human being work, which our ancestors had to accomplish with their hands. If a person does not exposed to an physically exhausting activities, he/she could stay heathy and increase the life expectancy. For instance, I recall teles of my grandfather, how after the World War Two, the sitizens of my country had to reconstuct Russia from ruines. They did not have havy machinery to build new roads, bridges and homes – they had to do it manually. This labor was incredibly hard and resulted in a variety of health problems. On the other hand, the new generation of the Russians use technologycal equipment to construct new towns and cities, and therefore, they are not stressed out by the tremndously difficult labor. This is one of the reasons why my contemporaries have longer lives.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that constant development in medicine and technology let people extend their lives. This is because it contribures to their well-being by providing them with effective drugs for a healing and with helpful tools for work.