In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon. Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Longevity has always been a controversial issue. People are trying to figure out why people tend to live longer now than they did before. My writing aims at thoroughly discuss the reasons for such increase in the length of people's lives.

First and foremost, it is obvious that medical development has surely contributed to the extension of people's life span. Needless to say, the arrival of various more effective treatments and medicines has helped cured several disease and increased patients' chances of living. Take the story of my great grand father as an example, even though he was diagnosed with lung cancer a few years ago, he managed to live for another year thanks to the advanced technology. The doctors also said that he would not have been able to live that long if it had not been for the chemo treatment.

Secondly, another factor that helps prolong people's longevity is the enhancement in the quality of life. The fact is that it is no longer common for people nowadays to have to suffer from the lack of food and shelter. With the rocketing growth of the economy worldwide, life standards are becoming higher. Less and less people need to struggle for their every meal, and they also get easier access to facilities such as hospitals and other welfare services. For instance, my grand parents do not have to work on the farm like they used to, so they now can enjoy their old age at home instead of spending nights and days outdoors. Also they are also provided with other necessary privileges such as free hospitalization and financial aids.

Indeed, the expansion in people's life span depends only multiple elements; however,the most obvious ones are as mentioned above.