Glass is a favored building material for modern architecture, yet it is also very dangerous for wild birds. Because they often cannot distinguish between glass and open air, millions of birds are harmed every year when they try to fly through glass windows There are, however, several solutions that responsible businesses can use to prevent injuries to birds.

One-Way Glass

One solution is to replace the regular, clear glass with one-way glass that is transparent in only one direction. The occupants of the building can see out, but birds and others cannot see in. If birds cannot see through a window, they will understand that the glass forms a solid barrier and will not try to fly through it.

Colorful Designs

A second solution is to paint colorful lines or other designs on regular window glass. For example, a window could have a design of thin stripes painted over the glass. People would still be able to see through the openings in the design where there is no paint, while birds would see the stripes and thus avoid trying to fly through the glass Architects can be encouraged to include colorful painted patterns on glass as part of the general design of buildings.

Magnetic Field

The third solution is to create an artificial magnetic held to guide birds away from buildings. Humans use an instrument called a magnetic compass to determine directions-either north, south, east, or west. Bird research has shown that birds have a natural ability to sense Earth’s magnetic fields; this ability works just like a compass, and it helps birds navigate in the right direction when they fly. A building in a bird flight path can be equipped with powerful electromagnets that emit magnetic signals that steer birds in a direction away from the building.

The reading passage and lecture have conflicting opinions about whether or not the glass is a potential threat for birds. The article strongly postulates that there are many solutions that can be used in order to protect birds from hitting the glass. On the other hand, the listening adamantly delinates that none of these solutions are effective, thereby saving birds from getting injured.

First and foremost, according to the author of the excerpt one-way glass can be used. its function is by letting only the inside building can see out. In contrast, the outside can't see inside. Therefore, the birds will prerced that the glass is a solid barrier. Nonetheless, the lecture offsets these points by insisting that replacing with one-way glass has a problem. which the outside glass will work as a mirror. As a result, this glass will be bad as regular glass. In other words, the birds willn't understand mirrors, for instance, the birds will sea sky in the mirror so he will fly into it.

The professor in lecture further points out that colorful design has problem too. the colorful pattern has small opening wich people can see outside through. However, the birds will see these openings as open holes. meaning that they will fly through it. Furthermore, this problem can be solved by making the holes extremely small.

The article lastly asserts that producing magnetic field will direct the birds away from buildings, owing to the fact that the birds use the Earth magnetic fields to navigate into the right direction. The speaker in the listening counters these points by declaring that the birds use the Earth magnetic fields when they travel from cold areas into warmer areas. In other words, birds use their ability to navigate using the Earth magnetic filed only for long trips. Also, birds use their eyes and brightness for short trips. Consequently, Creating magnetic fields will be useless.