Good teachers set challenging task for students. Do you agree or disagree, and why?

Teachers are the builders of a nation. They play an influential role in building tomorrow's society. One of the most important role they play is of setting challenging tasks for their students. This is what separates the best teachers from others. And I totally agree with this statement because such tasks are very important for the growth of the students.

Firstly, hard tasks help students understand various concepts easily. According to a survey, 87 percent of the students feel that by doing difficult tasks such as projects and presentations helps them understand the concepts in a better way. I can support this claim with my own example. When I was in my 10th grade, I was not able to understand the theory of coordinate geometry. Whenever I tried solving its questions I use to fail which annoyed me a lot. I was on the verge of quitting this section of mathematics. But my math teacher saw me struggling and assigned me to do a presentation on coordinate geometry as a part of my quarterly project. I was scared at first that how will I do a presentation on coordinate geometry if I do not even understand it properly. I took help from internet and used various books for reference and somehow I finished the task. And to my surprise after the activity when I tried doing different problems on the concept I was able to solve them effortlessly.

Secondly, I believe that difficult tasks build character. When you experience the world outside your school or your home, you come to the realization that it is harsh. If you are not prepared, you might not be able to survive in the world. So one should be prepared for such toughness. This kind of preparation could be achieved by doing the rigorous tasks provided by the teacher.

However, I believe that difficult task are good for the students, they should not be extremely daunting as such tasks can result in students losing their self confidence. This is crucial as low self confidence hinders a person from reaching his/her goal.

In conclusion, Good teachers are those who set laborious task for their students. These tasks are great for students overall development. However, these tasks should not be extreme as they may become intimidating to the students. So I would suggest teachers to make tasks that are challenging but in the limit of the students.