The government and coporation should share all their scientific discoveries with other countries in the world. Government and business should not keep any discoveries secret

Ever since the Industrial Revolution, science and technology has been the booster of the social productivity, contributing to our social well-being and quality of lives. Technological advancement is also the key that could turn a small business to the bellwether of the industry. For instance, the invention of personal computers and smartphone has turned Apple to one of the largest high-tech firm. Because of the drastical impact of science and technology, firms and government often make them the top secret to outcompete other firms and countries. While some people may condemn this as selfish, I would delve into the reasons of agreeing it from an economist's perspective.

To commence with, science discoveries, once being publicize and accessible to all, would be considered as a public good by an economist. Because of its accessibility, firms that make no contribution to the discoveries would also benefit from it. Scientific breakthrough would therefore be discouraged because people tend to freeride the products. Technological advancement is a ardous process that requires efforts of hundreds of scientists and millions in capital. Under no circumstances should we ignored these efforts and take away the fruit of their intelligence and diligence. If their efforts are not endowed, they would be greatly discouraged and refused to work.

Despite the manifest reason above, critics may still claim that undisclosing scientific discoveries would diminish the social surplus as it would lead to monopolization. For instance, pharmaceutical firms may sell their products at an unaffordable price to most of the patients. However, this is specious. Even a monopolize firm could not sell their products extremely expensive because of the diminishing profit, not to mention about the anti-trust law set by the government. Moreover, when a neccessary product is unaffordable, the government could subsidize the consumers, which would make the product affordable while encouraging scientific investigation.

Judging from the above evidence, we could arrive to a conclusion that government and firms are never ought to be required to share their scientific discoveries because this would only decrease social productivity and there are many alternatives to increase social well-being.