A government spends money on all adults after 25-year-old on a training course for the most up-to-date skills at workplace. Do you think it is effective? Why or why not?

Today, with rapid development of the society, the knowledge and skills also update fast, it seems helpful or even necessary for the government to do something useful to give the young people more chances. Nevertheless, training all adults after 25-year-old for the most up-to-date skills is unpractical for following aspects.

First of all, it is difficult for us to define what skill is up-to-date and just meaningful. Today, the society includes many jobs and different jobs usually require different talents or skills. So if we really hold the training, the problem is that who can decide which skill is more important so that everyone needs to take charge of. Moreover, whether it is fair if we only cover the need of one group of jobs also needs our more considerations.

Besides, training usually cost much money, even waste in bad conditions. If we are preparing the training, the first thing is that we should train the teacher who can train others, and this course definitely needs money, a lot of money. It is a burden for the government to offer so much money and continue to maintain other fairs. Moreover, though the money problem can be solved, no one can guarantee that these trainings are just useful for the young. So it takes big risk to invest much but return none.

Finally, the training can also cause burden to someone who does not need or is not willing to learn. For example, my uncle who is 26 years old and he opens a restaurant with his wife, living very happily. Let us imagine what will go on if the policy is done. At that time, one training called 'How to use computer well' happens to him and he must learn. He may have operated his restaurant well, but now he will take the burden from the government, just learning a subject that is difficult for him but he does not need at all! That sounds ridiculous! So the welfare may become the doom when people just do not need!

To sum up, the original purpose of the government is worth praising, but the way conducted needs further serious considerations.