Most adults believe that modern children (5-10 years old) behave worse than those in the past. What action parents should take do you think will have the most positive effect on children to help them behave better like respecting and treating others kindly?

1) limit the types of the TV programs and movies they watch

2) spend more time talking with children

3) supervise and monitor children while they are playing with their friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today, it is true that the modern children behave worse than those in the past. Last week, my 5-year-old cousin even called his father 'the pig' just because his snakes were eaten by his father. It is really disappointed. So, someone holds the view that we should educate them patiently through praise and encouragement. However, from my perspective, I do believe punishment is much more important.

To begin with, spending more time talking with children is unpractical. Admittedly, talking can build the awareness of the respecting and kindness in children's mind. Nevertheless, parents usually do not have so much time. Today, young people usually meet with high pressure in the work, and they usually need to work into the midnight in order to promote or gain more salaries. At the weekends, though there may be no work, but after one week's work, what they really want is resting and resting. So, it is difficult and unpractical for them to have enough time on their children.

Besides, supervising and monitoring children while they are playing with their friend may not be useful. We must admit that when the parents monitor, the children will behave well. But what they behave when we leave? Things may be different, and they may not show respect or kind treatment at all. Children will eventually grow up and parents cannot company them all the time. Thus, it may be not a good idea to just watch and watch. What is more, making friends is very important for them and when we monitor them, they may feel disturbed or embarrassed, and even be laughed at for being monitored.

Lastly, punishment can easily solve the problem and one way is limiting the types of TV programs and movies they watch. Children usually like watching TV and movies and they love spending time on them. So something unhealthy for them including violence, bad habit, disrespectful speaking style, etc can easily cause bad effect on them. If the parents cut the source, they will have no chance to learn these bad things. What is more, the children may also feel that this is a punishment and in order to watch next time, they will try hard to behave well so that they will gradually develop the good habit.

Helping the children behave well cannot be successful in a few days, it needs parents' efforts for a long time, but for our next generation, we can never give up.