Most adults believe that modern children (5-10 years old) behave worse than those in the past. What action parents should take do you think will have the most positive effect on children to help them behave better like respecting and treating others kindly?

1. limit the types of the TV programs and movies they watch

2. spend more time talking with children

3. supervise and monitor children while they are playing with their friends

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every family with children faces problems about how to educate children in an appropriate way, and different families have different methods. Some parents pay most of their attention to their interpersonal relations or their children’s entertainment such as the movies or television their children watch. However, I think it is more important for parents to focus on their interactions with children, such as communicating with them.

First of all, though limiting the kinds of TV shows and movies children watch and supervising children’s behaviours sometimes keep bad influence away from children, but it also makes the distance between children and parents larger. Children are generally naive and curious, it is hard for them to understand why their parents not allow them to watch what they are interested or play with who they like, and it is possible that they become even more interested in that types of movies and television or just play with those friends secretly, so the limitation might have opposite influence that parents expect.

Furthermore, children between 5 to 10 years old are good at imitation. Thus it is better for parents to behave well in order to provide children a model to learn about. So parents can spend more time on talking with children, at the same time teaching them how to be a good person. What’s more, the more time you communicate with your children, the less time your children watch TV or play video games. For instance, my uncle tells stories and talk with his sons about what makes them happy and what they experience is interesting during the day every day. Not only they have a close relationship, but also his sons learn how to behave well, how to face problems, and how to deal with relationship with others from their talkings.

All in all, I would recommend parents to talk more with their children if they want to teach their children how to behave like treating others patiently and politely.