Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Visiting museum is the best way to learn about a country.

As we all know, learning is a significant topic while we are traveling in another country. However there are various types of learning for people to choose. Some people think visiting museum is the best approach for us to learn deeply about that country, whereas I do not agree with that.

To begin with, I agree that it is meaningful for people to visit the museums in a way, but from a high school student’s perspective, keep walking and listen to the director is quite tedious. I went to Russia last year, and the tour guide brought us to the Winter Palace. That journey must be one of the most horrible journey that I experienced. I admitted that the sculptures, paintings, decorations, and furniture were splendid and worth watching, while we just roamed with our heavy bags inside the sultry place, hearing the tour guide introduced everything we passed with a loud voice. After all, I learned nothing as I was so tired and had no enthusiasm to memorize anything.

Furthermore, which I would recommend people to experience is to stay in that country for a long time if their schedules permit, perhaps for a month or two month, to communicate with the residents and learn the country’s histories and cultural background through the conversation. For instance, my friend Emily stayed in Poland for three weeks last summer vacation, and she nearly became a Poland’s people. She experienced Poland’s culture and custom everyday, communicated with local people and learned a lot about their history by listening to people there. What I think is the best is that, this kind of learning not only helps people get to know about that country well, but also gives people precious and meaningful experience.

In the aggregation, my opinion is that visiting museum is not the best way for us to learn about a country. If we do want to get to know it, just stay in that country for months, and then we will know everything about that country including many things would never show in the museum.