Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that attention to sports and athletes have a lot of social, political and economic benefits for countries. Thus, most people encourage their governments to invest more in this potential high-profit portion. Contrary, to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that art is the symbol of the cultural values of each society, so arts need more financial support for more flourish and progress. However, I, to a great extent, disagree with this idea that governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics.

First and foremost, professional sports are the source of entertainment for all people in society. A wide range of citizens include highly educated people, workers, women, men and children love sports teams. Athletes impress their audience and provide happiness and positive atmosphere in society. For example, during the football world cup, people feelings and behavior chance completely. All people are excited and seriously follow news and anticipate the success of their favorite team.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that investment in support and improvement of athletics will motivate common people to start sports activities. People get professional athletes as an example of power, fitness and health, therefore encouraged to participate more in these sets of activities. Whereby, the obesity rate and heart illness caused by lack of exercise will decrease significantly.

Finally, yet importantly, the main reason for recent years depression in arts is not the lack of money. Unfortunately, today young artists forget the value of fine art and just try to make more profit as possible. For example, when we are going to an art gallery, it is very rare to find appropriate artwork. Most people, especially wealthy ones spend a considerable amount of money to buy artworks. However, weakness in style, quality and lack of new ideas put arts in difficulty, not lack of government financial support.

On the basis of reasons that were mentioned above, I am convinced that it is better governments spend more money in support of athletics than arts. Because of widespread happiness caused by professional sports, and remarkable health improvement caused by spots, and also the roots of difficulty for toady art is not a poor budget.