Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

It is critically important for students to work hard as much as possible during their school. I personally believe that giving grades to students for their work will motivate them and have a positive effect in their study. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, students who are graded achieves in depth knowledge of the academic subjects. When the students has an opportunity to earn more grade, she will spend more time on her assignments, as a result, she will gain more inside knowledge and understand the minute details about the subject of her assignment. In contrast, students who are not graded for their work, will spend only small portion of their time in that subject, as a result they will only superficially understand the subject. My personal experience as a student is a compelling illustration of this. During my second year in college, I had to complete a major assignment related to modern structural design and it makes up half of the grade of the class. Therefore, I approached my assignment with care and diligence. I spent many hours working on my assignment, gathering and understanding every minute details associated with the modern structure, so that I could present perfect assignment to get highest grade possible. If the assignment had not been graded, I would not have spent my time gathering and doing research on my project. I am sure that students all over the world today are motivated to work hard by the chance to achieve high grades from their professors.

Furthermore, grade system helps students to know the level of understanding in different academic subject. Grades are assigned in a systematic way, so it clearly demonstrates the knowledge the students have in number of subjects. As a result, student can know their strong suit and subjects which need more effort and study. For example, during my high school I was assigned to write essay about history of U.S.A. After many days of hard work I submitted the essay and was expecting to get perfect score since I did a ton of research before writing it. However, to my surprise I was given fairly low score and was said to do it again. After that I examined the subject matter with careful eyes and found that there were several errors in my understanding about cardinal events. So I improved myself and submitted it again. This time however, I got the perfect score and cleared my wrong understanding, which would not have happened if not for the grading system.

In my conclusion, I strongly believe that grads encourage students to learn. This is because they force students to learn as much as possible, and because they give students the review of knowledge on different academic subjects, and give more attention to subject if needed so that they can improve their knowledge.