Having children is less important than in the past

It is undeniable that having children is a blessing for everyone. However, I believe that raising children is not essential in today's life. I feel this way for the following two reasons.

To begin with, raising up children is more expensive than it was in the past. Food, school supplies, transportations expenses are such some examples of the high costs that are associated with having kids. Raising up children increases our monthly bills and requires us to work more hours to cover those expenses. For example, twenty years ago, back to the time when my parents raised me up. Children were not required to learn in school. Therefore, parents did not have to worry about school supplies costs. In contrast, anyone who has kids now is required by law to send them to school for learning.

My parents told me that their cost of living didn't increase too much when they got children. In fact, they were able to save a lot of money each month for the summer vacation even after they got children. On the other hand, my monthly spending have increased significantly since I got my first kid. I used to be able to save $300 each month before I got my son. Now, I can't save any penny. As you can see, having children is more costly nowadays.

Additionally, having kids put more responsibilities on their parents. To be more specific, parents are the first to be questioned if any thing happens to their kids. For instance, my friend's son fell last week while he was playing. He did not have any serious injury but he had some scratches on his right hand. My friend was scared so she run to the emergency room to check on him. When she told the doctor what happened. He called the police and they questioned her for over than an hour. They asked her hundreds of questions and told her that if this happens again, they will take her son and she will not be able to see him anymore. Although, my friend did not do anything wrong but the police blamed her for this incident. As you can see, having a child increases the responsibility on us.

To conclude, I strongly agree that raising kids is less important that it was in the past because it increase our cost of living and it means that we are responsible of any thing that may happen to them.