Having jobs with low salary and more security is better than jobs with high salary but easier to lose.

Nowadays, people have a variety of options when they are looking for a job. Opinions divert when salary and security contradict with each other. Some people prefer jobs with a good pay but easy to lose, while others would rather take a job with a low salary but secure. From my standpoint, I would choose a secure job, even if it only provides me a low income.

To begin with, a secure job is more likely to promise the future promotion and career success. Those who has been working for a company for several years are more likely to get a chance of promotion. In contrast, a high-pay job with low security means that the employee may lose the job before getting any promotion. Take my uncle, a professional programmer as an example. In the past several years, he has been worked for at least 3 various companies. Obsessed with high salary, he chose to work large enterprises where competition among employees were severe. The highly competitive environment forced him to change his work place again and again. It might have been much better if he had chosen a small corporation instead.

In addition, a job with great security could help avoid a lot of unnecessary pressure. Not faced with the risk of being unemployment, people could enjoy a more relaxing life. Currently, an increasing number of graduates in China choose to be public service employees, such as teachers. Compared with jobs in private enterprises, public positions are much securer. The security benefits the improvement of life quality. To illustrate, Mr. Wei, my math teacher in high school, has plenty of spare time after his daily work. He often goes fishing or do some reading during the weekends. With no overwhelming pressure from his work, he is able to spend his time on things that he enjoys.

Indeed, we should never ignore that a job with high salary but low security is appealing for risk takers. After all, it is those risk takers who made numerous successes in human history. Jack ma, the founder of Alibaba, quit his teaching position and founded his own company. Without his risk-taking spirit, he would never have been so successful. Nevertheless, the risk of losing jobs cannot be afforded by every job seeker. For most of them, a secure job is a wiser choice.

In sum, if I were seeking for a job, I would prefer a securer job with lower salary. Concerning the better chance of getting promotion and lower risks of being unemployed, this kind of job is better.