It is more important for students to learn ideas and concepts rather than facts.

It is hard to deny that knowing facts are of great practical importance in our lives. Such a statement leads impressionable people to generate the idea that facts are more important than ideas and concepts. However, this statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies and should be examined meticulously. As far as personal development, efficiency and communication are considered, I strongly hold the belief that it is more important for students to learn ideas and concepts rather than facts.

First and foremost, understanding ideas and concepts is beneficial to one's personal development. By learning ideas and concepts, students could have the access to some of the greatest thinkers in human history. By getting access to these greatest minds, students are given the chance to understand their great thoughts, which would contribute to their future development. Meanwhile, understanding ideas and facts enables students to think in a logical way and contributes the development of logical thinking, which is also a significant factor to one's development.

Second, the fact that understanding ideas and concepts makes it more efficient to understand facts indicates that priority should be given to concepts and ideas. Take the example of physics, a subject deals with various facts in the world. By observing experiments, students could get to know all kinds of facts, but they may do not know what is the implicit mechanism that lead to the results. One the other hand, if students learn some physical ideas and concepts first, they will know the mechanism behind the phonomenon when they observe the facts.

A voice arises that learning facts have more practical effects in the future. Ironically, deeper understanding could not be acquired until ideas and concepts are understood. Only knowing the facts, students could only reach the superficial level of things. They could not put the facts into further practical uses. Besides, by understanding the concepts and ideas, students could understand the causes and results of each fact, then catogorize the facts they know. When they are faced with similar situations, they are able to find the best way to solve the problem in an effective way.