Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think it is a good idea?

It is hard to deny the fact that academic performance plays an important role in the evaluation of each school-age child. Such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the idea that the money parents give to their children should depend on the scores they get at school. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined meticulously. As far as fairness, mental health and effects are concerned, I strongly hold the belief that children's pocket money should not be determined by their grades.

First of all, it is unfair for kids if their pocket money is determined by their scores, as scores are not the only indicator to decide whether a child has a good performance at school. Meanwhile, not every child is born to be a good learner. Some children could not improve their scores even if they have already put a lot of effort on learning, but that does not mean that they could not be a fully developed person in the future. Furthermore, other factor should also be considered, such as participation in extra-curriculum activities, progression made in each subject and observation of school rules.

Second, the fact that money determined by grades harms children both physically and psychologically indicates that parents should not decide the amount of money they give to their children in that way. Take the case of my cousin, a typical school-age student who has an average academic performance among his peers. To encourage him to improve his scores, his parents decided to use mark as an indicator of his pocket money. If he ranks top 10 in his class, he will get 300 yuan as a reward. However, he might lose all the pocket money in the next month if he does not do well. In order not to lose his pocket money, he studied very hard and stop attending any extracurricular activity like playing soccer or watching films. As a result, he suffers from mentally fatigue and physically tiredness, which made him perform even worse in the next exam.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that use score as a indicator could be an effective motivation to the children. Admittedly, pocket money could encourage kids to attach greater importance to their study, to some extent. Ironically, it could also put heavier pressure on kids, since they would spare no effort to getting higher scores and higher ranks. Suffering from too much physical and mental pressure, children might not sleep well at night and pay well attention during class, which might cause negative impacts on their academic performance. Such a negative circulation could even make children lose the motivation of learning. `

In a nutshell, I maintain that parents should not offer their children money according to their scores at school. Admittedly, as my favorite quite from a Chinese old saying goes, the benevolent sees benevolence and the wise sees wisdom, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.