A high school that normally gives students about two months of time off from school during the summer is introducing a new educational requirement for students in eleventh grade (ages 16-17) over the summer, students have the following two options to fulfill the new requirement.

- They can attend classes each day for several weeks to complete a university level course on a subject that they are considering selecting as their major field of study at university.

- They can spend several weeks traveling to museums and historic places in their area with a group of students guided by a teacher and then write a paper of their experience.

Which one of these options do you think would be most beneficial for students and why?

There is no doubt that preparing students for university has been played a prominent role in anyone's life. Due to its paramount importance, efforts elevating for their effectiveness have been always amongst high schools' top priorities. No one can deny the direct and indirect effects of this period of time on our private lives. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether the student must study and prepare themselves for university during summer time or go to trip and visit museum with their teacher and prepare a paper based on their experience. I, despite the general consensus, contend that the first belief carries more weight. In what follows, I am going to aptly delve into my perspective.

First of all, one should take into the account the fact that the summer is a good time that the students can pre study about their major and help them in their first semester. Most of the universities have hard schedule for the first semester. So it can help them to reduce their stress and ask their problem during the semester. Take a personal experience as an example, when I entranced to university, I had 8 courses in first semester and it was very difficult for all students. Most of the students felt in math, but a few could pass it because their high school prepared them before university.

The second reason that I would like to bring about this topic is that the atmosphere of university different dramatically to high school. If students know about their course and start take a relationship with them slowly, it can help them to be successful in their future. For instance, time of high school starts and ends on certain time, but the university does not have this schedule. The psychologists have conducted many researches on this matter and believe that if people do not aware on atmosphere of university, it may disappoint them and they abounded their main field.

The last but not least reason by which the claim is justified is that it is a good chance that students increase their knowledge about one major then select it as their main field. Most of students have a brief information about the major and think they are similar the school major. This pre study can help them choose their major more awareness and maybe they change their idea about previous major. The result of recent study conducted in my country shows that 56 percent of students do not satisfy with their major. They believe their knowledge about major is not correct. According to results, more than 32 percent of above mentioned students change their field in second year of university.

From what has been discussed above, we may safely the conclusion that the summer is the best time that students can prepare themselves for the university. The high school must plan a good schedule for the last semester in high school that enhance the students' information and get them about rule of university etc. It is highly recommended that high school brings their alumni's to conference and they share their information with students. So it is a gold time that the students must take the most advantage.