If people want to contribute to the society, which of the following is the best way?

1- riding bicycle or walking on foot

2- recycling the waste

3- buying local organic food

In the modern era, technology is being developed at a galloping rate. This progress has resulted in many breakthroughs of protecting our planet. One of the big challenges of societies is discovering the ways which lead to saving energy. The controversial question which arises here is that if people want to contribute the society, what can they do among three values. Some people prefer to provide organic food to distribute in society, and people who decide to protect those producers. Some are of the opinion that riding bicycle or walking on foot is the best way. As far as I am concerned, recycling the waste has a pivotal effect in order to save our planet. In the following paragraphs, my viewpoint will be elucidated through two remarkable reasons.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that recycling helps protect the environment. Recycling reduces the need for extracting (such as mining, quarrying and logging), refining and processing raw materials. All of these create substantial air and water pollution. Not only does recycling save energy, but also it reduces greenhouse gas emission, which helps to tackle climate changes. Furthermore, recycling saves resources. When we recycle, used materials are converted into new products, reducing the need to consume natural resources. Consequently, if the materials are not recycled, new products are made by extracting fresh, raw materials from the earth, through mining and forestry. Recycling helps conserve important materials and protects natural habitats for the future. For instance, recycling paper and wood saves trees and forests. You cannot replace virgin rainforest or ancient woodlands once they are lost. Recycling plastic means creating less new plastic, which is definitely a good thing, especially as it is usually made from fossil fuel hydrocarbons. Recycling metals means there is less need for risky, expensive and damaging mining new metal ores.

The second noteworthy reason is that recycling saves energy. Using recycled materials in the manufacturing process uses considerably less energy than that required for producing new products from raw materials. As a matter of fact, cost of producing energy is a significant issue in societies. Recent researches show that the amount of energy saved from recycling one glass bottle could power an old light bulb for 4 hours, and a new low-energy LED equivalent for a lot longer. This indicates that the cost of producing and consuming energy is more cost-effective by this approach. Besides, we cannot overlook the important role of using renewable energy rather than burning fossil fuels. As an example, wind is the common phenomenon all over the world as well as it is ubiquitous, just by installing the wind turbines, we can produce electricity.

To bring everything into conclusion, considering the given three main values, I definitely believe that recycling the waste has the prominent role to protect the environment. The more governments provide incentive to recycle the waste, the more people can enjoy the green planet.