If you are about to enter your final semester and you need to take a final course to graduate, whose course would you like to take?

a professor who has taught you in an earlier semester

a professor who is new for you

Upon graduation, students are particularly burdened with huge academic pressure, which will determine their final GPA and impact their further study or career. Under such circumstance, the final course they take unconsciously weighs more in the whole curriculum. Some may choose a new professor to add more challenges, but considering the importance of this last class upon graduation, I have to pick a familiar professor for the following reasons.

To begin with, learning with such a professor is conducive to improving students' GPA. Superficially speaking, the only reason seems to be the familiar student-teacher relationship leading the latter to offer a high score. However, this is merely one aspect, let alone professors' fairness will drive them to stay emotionally neutral as much as possible. More importantly, following a previous mentor, learners already gained a better understanding of his or her discipline and requirements so that they could better obey it. Plus, this familiarity encourages students to make full use of office hours, since there exists fewer worries regarding the teacher's temper or personality. Similarly, more active class performance will happen due to the close emotional distance. For example, my shy sister chose Professor Zhang, who taught her two years ago, as her teacher in American Literature, the last class before graduation. Through this class, she needed to raise her GPA from 3.75 to 3.8 for the sake of a more promising graduate school. The standard set, she endeavored to raise her hands at least four to five times in class, which would be impossible for her with a new teacher. Each week, she visited Professor Zhang's office twice, asking many well-prepared questions such as how to fairly judge different developmental stages of American literature. All her efforts finally paid off when she saw the final 3.8 GPA on the score report.

Also, taking the last class with a near teacher contributes to more career or studying possibilities in the future. One professor usually teaches more than one class and even in more than one department, thus understandably it is hard for a student to leave a deep impression on the teacher by only taking his or her class once. In contrast, by choosing the same mentor twice, especially for the last course before graduation, students could stay personally closer to the professor by letting the teacher realize his or her importance. Consequently, when being asked about college or job recommendations, the professor are more likely to use personal connections other than the normal broad suggestions. For instance, my former roommate Jane, an interior design major in Nankai University, took Professor Li's class Comparison of Eastern and Western Interior Design as her last one before graduation. Her dream was to become a designer in one of the five most famous companies in the field, but she had no clue about how to approach it. At that time, through taking Professor Li's class twice, Mrs. Li knew my roommate better and appreciated her diligence as well as sparkling inspiration, so knowing about Jane's strong willingness, Mrs. Li contacted her own previous classmate who then was the senior manager in one such company to interview Jane in June. Jane's sharp mind and politeness won herself the position.

Admittedly, choosing a new teacher for the last class also carries certain advantages. Students will experience a new teaching style and know more teachers in school, which may bring them unexpected benefits. However, from the perspective of students, accumulating higher GPA is of greater importance than knowing a new teaching style. Besides, in most circumstances, taking a professor's class only once provides extremely limited help after graduation, especially as the last class, because there are other extra tasks waiting to be solved, either about job application or future study plans.

To sum up, I reinforce my statement that I would follow a familiar professor to finish my last course before graduation. For one thing, it is easier for me to improve the final GPA. For another, taking such a class carries along with it more career or studying opportunities.