If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Could I change one important thing about my hometown, definitely I would choose the culture of people who are living in my hometown. Nowadays, people have serious problems related to culture, and it can have some adverse influences on the next generation of the town. There are two reasons why I feel this way, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, the more pleasantly the people of a city behave, the better face their city will have. To put it in a different way, everybody admits that pleasant people are easier to be communicated with. Therefore, if we increase the level of culture among people, it will lead to a better communication of people. This change contributes to two great aftermaths. First, people would feel better in both daily association with each other and living in the city. Second, it will give the city a better face in public. Consequently, merchants and artisans of other cities would come to the city for their work and investment, and this is where the city improves in every aspects. As a case in point, one of my best friends, Bill, who is working in a prosperous construction company, said to me, “If I had chance visiting Iran, I would absolutely go to Isfahan due to the high level of its people’s culture.”

Secondly, this change would have impacts on the surrounding environment. A study on the factors on the environment pollution which was accomplished by the University of Western Ontario in July 16, 2006, shows that 34 percent of this pollution comes from lack of culture. In other words, if the level of culture in a society is high, people will prevent themselves from destroying their surrounding environment as far as possible. For instance, if we compare Tehran with its status 30 years ago, we can quickly reach to the point. If people who are living in Tehran had been in a high level of culture, they would not have easily polluted the air by excessive using of their cars.

In conclusion, I personally would choose to change the culture of my hometown, if it were possible for me. This is because of improving people’s manner and preventing the environment to be polluted.