If you want to study abroad - Independent essay

I´m planning to study abroad, which will be an important experience in my life. However, there are certain benefits and downsides about studying in a foreign country. Therefore, in the subsequent paragraphs each side will be discussed illustrated by personal experiences to support my view.

To begin with, if I studied abroad I would face to be far from my family, including on important days. Although the distance could bring several benefit to my personal growth, for instance I would learn to be more responsible, not only of my personal care, but on my monthly expenses, safety, and any sort of decisions. However, if I studied out of the country presumably I would be homesick, and as a consequence it might interfered with my concentration making my foreign life harder than expected. Homesickness not only could preclude my success, but also it might lead into mental instability, whose symptoms are a severe lack of energy, suddenly mood changes, just to name a few. I can attest this from my own experience. Eight years ago I moved to another city in order to study chemistry. The first months were the most difficult ones because the nostalgia invaded me causing a gradually decrease of curiosity and excitement. Hence, this is the part I don’t like about studying in a foreign country.

Secondly, another point to be considered is that I would receive a better education by studying at a university with such a high ranking. Talented professors and effective facilities may possibly be provided, which support worldwide students who truly want to improve their skills and learn from the best. Besides, probably I would have the chance to learn in a class that aggregates many talented and committed classmates, who also would come from different parts of the world. Nevertheless, it exists some downsides that I dislike. For example, in case I want to study at a foreign nation whose language is different from mine, I should meet extra requirements, including a language proficiency certificate, which is expensive. Furthermore, I should pay for a student visa and a foreign student fee, whose price is higher than for native students. Needless to say, I should pay rent for and apartment and all the domestic services.

In conclusion, in spite of the homesickness and the amount of money invested, studying abroad is an opportunity of a lifetime, insomuch as I would socialize with outstanding classmates from distinct countries, as well as learn from talented teachers.