Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the leader say something incorrect, In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do? 1. Interrupt and correct the mistake right away; 2. Wait until the class or meeting is ov

One of the inseparable features of human beings is making mistakes, and our characteristics have been defined by them. One of the heated debates in this realm is associated with the question of when is the proper time to correct the teacher’s error. Many people adhere to the view that the best time is the exact moment that the misstatement was made, while others suppose that interrupting a speaker is not ethical. I firmly believe we should not speak in the middle of the speech, and we have to wait to talk about it later. In what follows, I will cogently pinpoint my most conspicuous reasons to justify my point of view.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that interrupting the lecturer might distract him so that he would not be able to continue what he was speaking about. We all have experienced such situations that although we were fully dominate over the subject during a speech, after being interrupted, we could not concentrate on the presentation anymore. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About a year ago, I was talking about a project in a class as a teaching assistant, and I mistakenly missed a major point. Immediately, one of the students started shouting the missed point. However I acknowledged his useful statement, I forgot what I was going to say, so I had to dismiss the class.

The second equally significant point to be mentioned is that sometimes we suppose the teacher has made a slip while he did not. This is because we probably did not fully understand the topic due to not paying adequate attention to him. In these situations, the teacher would say that we were not listening to him, so we will get embarrassed. For instance, a year ago, in the Computer Networks class, one of my friends stopped the teacher to correct him. The teacher then got furious, then he started giving another lecture advising him to listen to the class, be more patient, and stop being so arrogant. He was so embarrassed that he left the class, and did not return for several sessions.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that speaking in the middle of somebody’s lecture is not the best idea. Not only it is considered rude in most cultures, but also this attitude makes him/her lose focus and not be able to continue the rest of the lecture. Plus, we might mistakenly assume he/she committed a mistake, so we will be humiliated in front of our friends.