Imagine that you are a student at a university where there are long breaks between semesters. The university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break.

a. Students must take a course which has no direct connection to their major (for example, students majoring in engineering take a course in fine arts or social sciences)

b. Students must volunteer to work on a project in their university’s city or hometown to improve some aspect of life in the city or hometown. For example, a student can work with primary school children who need help with their homework.

Which one do you prefer? Present reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is an English proverb that says, ''Make hay, while the sun shines,'' which has to do with the fact that one should utilize any encountered situation in order to make progress in one's personal life. According to this proverb, university students should make use of each opportunity which is provided for them during the break, whether it would be taking an irrelevant course or being volunteered for working on a project. I subscribe to the latter option as it will bring about invaluable experiences which will have a conspicuous impact on students' future life.

Regarding the importance of experience in today's modern world, with its galloping progress, it is widely believed that any individual should broaden one's knowledge in his or her major by practical training which is obtained through doing some part-time job related to their field of study. When one does some jobs like teaching assistant or teaching students who need some help in order to improve their lessons, not only can he or she put this in their CVs which will reveal a big impact on their upper level of education, but they will be occupied in prestigious job positions in the upcoming future as well. It may be true that learning an irrelevant course such as art or social science can lead to prosper in future, but it is not as effective as working experience. Additionally, enjoying the very experiences paves the way for becoming self-confident since one considers one's-self will be beneficial for the society, and this will unconsciously affect their tendency to work better in their future jobs.

Another privilege of this opportunity is concerned with the society. First, university students, by doing this part-time job, help local population improve their lessons which will directly have an impact on society's improvement because of enhancing public educational level. Moreover, by doing so, university will be increased in value among local population and as a result not only will the university as well as students be respected more, but also science and knowledge improvement will be valued more. Apart from this, participating young members beside experienced members in society will improve the performance of the infrastructure projects and will result in better outcomes which are not achieved by attending just art or social classes. Any individual should do something in order to make a better society rather doing something simply to pass his or her leisure time.

In conclusion, by taking all these into account, I believe that having a part-time job during the break is more preferable in comparison with taking a course which is not related to one's major because the former one provide job opportunities, working experiences, as well as respect, all of which are crucial for any student to find a decent job in future.