Imagine that your city government has given permission for a major
company to build a large factory near your neighborhood. Do you think this
is a good idea? Why or why not? Explain your position using specific
reasons and examples
The presence of factories near residential zones is a very controversial
topic in modern society. personally, I would wholeheartedly support the
construction of a factory near my town. I feel this way for two reasons, which I
will explore in the following essay.
First of all, my community desperately needs the jobs that a factory
would provide. I live in an economically disadvantaged region which has
suffered from high unemployment rates for more than fifty years. This has had
some very serious effects on the town, including high rates of child poverty
and crime, as well as poorly developed public services. This makes me think of
my brother’s situation. He lives in the same country as I do, but in a different
city. Several years ago, a manufacturing plant actually was constructed in his
region. There was, indeed, an increase in pollution, noise and traffic after the
factory opened, but everyone agrees that this was an acceptable trade-off for the
declines in crime, graffiti and homelessness that occurred at the same time. I
believe that my brother’s example demonstrates why it would be a great idea to
construct new industry in my town.
Secondly, modern industry is not as bad as a lot of people think. Here
in Canada, factories come equipped with modern technology that removes the
most dangerous chemicals from their regular emissions. Moreover, advances in
public transportation can alleviate some of the traffic-related concerns that most
people have when they think about industrial development. For example, when
that factory was constructed in my brother’s town he and many of his neighbors
were quite surprised at how little air pollution they noticed. There was some
effect on their air quality, but it was not nearly as bad as they thought it would
be. Not only that, but the construction of the factory caused the local government
to invest heavily in public transportation for the workers, and this has made life
more convenient for everyone in the city. This example describes another
reason why I would love for a factory to be constructed in my hometown.
In conclusion, I strongly believe that a factory would be a wonderful
addition to my community. This is because it would create a lot of employment,
and because factories are not as dirty and inconvenient as many people think.