Independent essay

It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In my country, it is general practice to take a year off after finishing school. There are many opponents and proponents of this approach. Nevertheless, I feel that the disadvantages of it pale in comparison with the benefits that students receive. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, children at schools are overwhelmed with tasks and extra-curriculum activities. They do not really have time to just stop and think about their future. Moreover, it looks like almost all decisions are made based on intuition and without thorough analysis. In this case, a year break after school allows them to comprehend what they like to do and what they dream about. My experience is a compelling illustration of this. At high school I thought that I would link my profession with microbiology. Definitely, it was just the influence of my grandfather who worked for the biological research institute. But I decided that I had to take time and understand my real desires and passion. Fortunately, I realized that I really want to be a quantum engineer. Now, 10 years after graduating from university, I can say that it was my best choice I have ever done.

Secondly, you have to utilize your youth as efficiently as you can. And I feel that take a break and dedicate this time to yourself is the best way to do so. I remember my brother's story. After school, he was invited to travel to Europe for six months. It was kind of an adventure but he decided to accept this offer. And even nowadays he tells us details about this trip, and he always smiles when shows us the photos from this magnificent journey.

On the other hand, the opponents of this kind of break can say that you will lose a whole year and this time should be spent on learning. However, my counterargument will be that it is much more harmful to spend all your life doing something that does not really inspire you.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the mentioned advantages outweigh the negative effects of having a year off after graduating from school. Mainly, this is because in the modern world students have to have time to relax and understand what they want to do.