Independent essay

What discovery of penicilline in the past 100 years has been most beneficial for people in your country? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Medicine is the main science because it has a direct influence on people's lives. Personally, I believe that the discovery of penicillin, the antibiotic that dramatically increased the survival rate, is the major finding of the last century, especially in my country. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, in my country almost all families have relatives who participated in World War 2. It is important to point out that penicillin was invented in the USSA laboratories in the mid of this war. As a result, it allowed doctors to save the lives of injured soldiers. I remember my grandfather's story. When he had been wounded he was relocated from the front to the hospital. And after surgery doctor told him that he was the luckiest man because they just had received a new remedy, penicillin. Hence, I have personal thankfulness to penicillin because as far as I understand my grandfather would have not returned home if this antibiotic had not been invented.

Secondly, apart from the military use of these chemicals, it is generally used in the civil healthcare system. Moreover, based on this invention, many other antibiotics have been discovered. Thus, its invention pushed forward the whole medical industry. Probably, each of us took a course of antibiotic therapy at least once a life. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. During the Covid-19 pandemic, I was infected with the virus. My condition was so awful that I had to intake many pills, including antibiotics. As a result, just in one week, I got better, and in one month I was cured. I do not really think that it was possible without the first step of the invention of penicillin.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that penicillin is the crucial invention of the 20th century. This is because using it allowed to save millions of lives during World War 2 and to amazingly boost the medical and chemical industries.