Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 7: Agree or disagree? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

There is no doubt that with passing of the time, science is going to be advanced and difficult for that of past. The scientists are attempting to propose notions for wide variety of subjects, which most of them remain unproved. This brings up a highly controversial question surrounding the studying facts: Is it important for students to learn concepts and ideas? In my perspective, I strongly disagree with the stance of learning concepts is significant for students. I thinks that understanding facts is of paramount importance for students. The reasons behind this standpoint are discussed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the first reason that immediately comes to mind is that facts help us to solve physical problems. In fact, different scholars have different notions regarding the topics. Some scientists believe in the own notion while other disagree. Although students can learn the scientific concepts, it is unlikely that they will be able to solve problems by resting on these diverse notions, as they will be confused with the concepts. However, when students learn facts, they will be able to find solution whenever they encountered problems because the scientific facts all are real and cannot have opposition or contrary ideas. The reason for this is that nature based on physical facts such as earth gravity, forces between the physical objects on so forth. Therefore, it is better for children at school understand facts and real topics because of being able to solve problems that they face in their studying.

The second and important reason that support my standpoint is that students can comprehend the facts well. Indeed, as I previously mentioned, the facts exist in real life and are tangible. When the professors teach them a topic that exist in the real world, students will be able to grasp class material well. For instance, consider newton' gravity law, which is a fact. The physics professor can teach it easily to students by giving and using an experiment. The professor can drop an apple from the above of ground and prove that gravity exist. It is obvious that all of students either the smart or stupid students can comprehend newton law. So, as you can see, one of benefits of learning the facts at school is the grasping class material easily.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned factors, I contend that it is beneficial for students to learn real topics and facts rather that concepts and ideas, because the students not only comprehend class material better, but the facts also help them to solve various issues that encounter in their textbooks.