TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that today there are a lot universities around the global. The college professors have a significant role in amending education quality. This brings up a controversial question regarding to salary of professors: Is it a good idea that universities escalate professors' wages? In my perspective, I disagree with the idea of dedicating budget to increase professors' salary. The reasons for this viewpoint are discussed in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the first thing that immediately comes to mind is that university could spend money for providing financial support for students. In fact, nowadays students are more in monetary pressure than past time. The reason for this are not only universities’ higher tuition fees, but costs of living is also high. Students should pay accommodation expenses as well as other compulsory expenses themselves. As a result of this, students intend to work in part-time job in order to be able to pay their education expenses. However, working at a part-time job brings them problems surrounding studying. For instance, they sleep late at night or do not able to participate in all of classes. If the universities consider to supply financial aids for students, they can study well. Consequently, their grades will improve substantially.

The second and important reason that support my standpoint is that universities could improve quality of education by allocating money for buying equipment. Indeed, all of the courses concerning with the applied sciences such as engineering required to have special instrument, while there are a few colleges in all around the world, which owned enough laboratory equipment. By purchasing new devices for practical courses, students could grasp practical knowledge better. For example, when I was a university student, our department do not have sufficient devices for doing experiments and thus all of students in the class should work in a group, which only a few students were able to do the experiment and others were like visitors. Consequently, most students could not obtain experience in working with lab devices. Therefore, dedicating money for supplying laboratory devices and equipment is a good way to improve quality of education.

On the other hand, there is a good justification for devoting some money for professors. In fact, professors in the universities educate people, and if they have higher salary, they can use various techniques for teaching students. They can make a use of strategies that causes to students comprehend class materials well. So, it is plausible that some students understand lectures well. However, rising professors' salaries more than a specific amount will make student become deprive from the financial support and learning facility.

In conclusion, according to the above-mentioned factors, I contend that university should spend money on providing financial aids as well as improving university facilities, although college managers should consider a slight change in the professors’ wage, as well.