TPO8: Television advertising directed toward young children (age two to five) should not be allowed.

There is no doubt that nowadays advertisement is an inevitable part of humankind' life and people frequently see different products publicized at Television channels. This brings up a highly controversial topic whether television commercials targeted at young aged people should be banned or not. I agree with this stance because of the following reasons that I will explain.

The first reason that immediately comes to mind is that young children are lack of mental development. In fact, children have not ability to distinguish what is good or bad. If an advertiser introduces unhealthy products for them, it is likely that they will be negatively affected by advertisements. For instance, last night, a television program aimed at children publicized a new type of junk food. This food contained substantial amount of fat and sugar. I had not had any idea about this junk food before I found out that it a kind of potato chips. However, my younger brother could not recognize main ingredient of this food and he eagerly wanted to buy it. He did not understand my idea at all, instead he persisted to have it. Therefore, he went out in order to buy it from local store. After a while, it turned out that he had stomachache. This example demonstrates that if the commercial advertisements are allowed to show their products such as food for children at ages between two to five, children will observe them and tend to buy them without being aware that they are unhealthy. Hence, the commercial advertising directed toward children should be prohibited, as young children cannot differentiate right or wrong goods.

The second point worth discussing is related to families’ economic condition. In fact, parents may not have sufficient money to buy their children whatever the television promotion shows. When a child observes a product in the television advertisement, he/she tries to convince and enforce his/her father to purchase products that have been shown them. For instance, there is an advertisement about newly produced miniature motorcycle. My younger brother accidently saw it in the middle of commercial break and thus he started to cry and scream in order to enforce his father to purchase it. However, my father cannot afford it due to his financial situation. Further forces from the child caused father to take a high interest loan from a bank, which will, in turn, lead on financial pressure for the family. This example proves that television promotions lead on more dramatic damage to families' economic, unless they are uncontrolled. Therefore, television advertisements aims at children from two to five ages should not permitted.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned factors, I contend that government should regulate commercials designed to young children because of children's undeveloped intellectual as well as families' economic circumstances. Why don’t you consider these factors as good reasons in supporting the plan of restricting television advertisement directed toward young aged children?