TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Needless to say, today with advancement of computer technology new video games are going to build. This brings up a highly controversial topic regarding the use of computer games, whether playing games in the computer waste children's time or not. I believe that computer games benefit children in many aspects which some of them can be increasing young children's creativity, as well as sense of cooperation. I will elaborate on my reasons behind this standpoint in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, children will be creative if they play video games. In other words, playing computer games helps them to become more creative in solving problems. Children during their studies face problems in their textbook and by involving in playing games can be able to find several solutions to them. My own experience provides an illuminating insight into this fact. Last night, while I was watching a television program, I observed that the correspondent was talking about effects of games on children. The correspondent stated that computer games can make high school students be/come creative. I had not accepted this claim before I remembered my own experience at school. I remember that during high school, I played a video game involving to solving problems in the game. This game was really beneficial since it helped me to develop problem-solving skill. One day when I was practicing, I saw a significantly difficult problem. After a few minutes thinking, I eventually resolve the problem, whereas all of my classmates were struggling with the aforementioned problems. I helped them and described them how to solve that. This ability was a result of playing strategic games that I played. Consequently, the games caused me become creative enabling me to propose various answers to my textbook' problems. Therefore, spending time on computer games is not waste of time rather it is to exercise creativity.

The second point worth discussing is related to cooperation. Alternatively stated, young children can strengthen their cooperation skill by playing video games, which is advantageous for their education. Indeed, some games are about cooperating with one another in order to perform a specific tasks. The following example suffices to illustrate my point. My friend most time played games needing cooperative with his friends. In these games people should gather together so that they can gain a particular goal. This was critical for him since some of his university courses required cooperation such as executing experiment at practical courses. Not only did he entertain by playing computer games but also he enhanced his cooperation skill. Therefore, the game improved the afterward ability of my friend so that he passed all of his practical courses with high grade. Hence, children by playing games gain benefit instead of wasting time.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned factors, I contend that children’s precious time will not be wasted if they play video games, as they extend creativity ability and become cooperative.