Students at universities often have a choice of places to live. They may choose to live in university dormitories, or they may choose to live in apartments in the community. Compare the advantages of living in university housing with the advantages of living in an apartment in the community. Where would you prefer to live?

Undoubtedly, students at the beginning of each semester have two choices for accommodation. Some individuals choose to dwell at on-campus dorms whereas others prefer to reside at an apartment in the community. Each choices has its own advantages that I will discuss them in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the advantages of living at dormitory are being low-priced. In fact, most of on-campus dormitories have shared-rooms that two or three students rent annually. These shared-rooms required to pay lower amount of money in comparison with apartment at off-campus. For instance, during my study at college in Tehran, I merely spend one hundred dollars monthly for accommodation which I shared room with 3 people. However, it only cost up to two hundred dollars to rent an apartment which costs twice from that of university dorms. Not only that but also I should put aside some money to pay transportation bill in order to arrive to my college. Overall, my monthly expenses will be increased approximately to three hundred dollars. Therefore, an individual who live at an on-campus dorms decreases the expense of housing.

On the other hand, staying at a house outside campus is comfortable. In fact, students could stay awake late at night in order to study, while doing such a task at on-campus dorms are impossible to perform, because most of students intend to sleep early at night. Moreover, if one person want to watch a television program, s/he should ask from their roommates whether they like to watch or not. For example, when my interest is to watch documentary movies at discovery channel, I should be sure that others agree with me or their preference is to watch to other channels. Furthermore, although university dormitories most of them have a kitchen with important staffs such as oven, they must be available to use, since somebody may cook dinner for him of herself. However, this disadvantage is not exist at an apartment that campus dorms has because the apartment is only ready for your use and thus you will be able to cook whenever you want. So, as you can see, living at an apartment is more comfortable that residing at dormitory.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned reason, I would say that living at on-campus dormitory is better for me because I need money to pay university tuition fees, as residing at a cheap dorm helps me save money, even though the advantage of staying at apartment which is being comfortable, is tempting.