Students at universities often have a choice of places to live. They may choose to live in university dormitories, or they may choose to live in apartments in the community. Compare the advantages of living in university housing with the advantages of living in an apartment in the community. Where would you prefer to live? Give reasons for your preference.

University is one of the best periods in everyone's life. In order to make the most of university days it is so important where you choose to live. Students usually have two options. Some students prefer to live in university dormitories while others choose to live in apartments in the community. Each one has its own advantages.

Dormitories are less expensive than apartments because universities typically don't charge students for accommodation and also students don't have to pay the bills. One of the greatest perks of living in a dorm is the cleaning service. So students don't have to waste time cleaning the bathrooms or vacuuming the common areas. The other advantage that saves students' time is proximity to classes so there no need to spend a lot of time commuting. Moreover, Students never feel lonely as there are a lot of other students around them and also it's easy to gather people to play group sports such as soccer, volleyball, or basketball. An indirect advantage is that students have to adapt with dormitories conditions such as lights-out, sharing a room with other students, or having less freedom in spending leisure time that makes them more patient and adaptable. In addition, students can ask other students for help in case a problem arises. For example, if someone needs help with his exam, he can easily find a strong student to ask his questions. Another advantage is that as university campuses have security cameras and/or security patrols they are more secure especially for girls. Therefore, living in dorms has lots of advantages.

Although living in apartments is more expensive because students have to pay the rent and the bills, apartments have a lot of advantages. The main advantage is the quietness. Since students have to study a lot so they need a quiet place in order to be focused when studying. Furthermore, students will have more freedom in planning their days. For instance, they can plan when to wake up; to have breakfast, lunch or dinner, to go to bed. And also living in an apartment will significantly improve the quality of pastime activities because students will have many choices for their free time such as staying up late and watching movies, listening to loud music, reading books in calm, or staying out late. Plus, everyone can decorate his apartment according to his taste. As you can see, living (in an off-campus apartment) off-campus brings about much more comfort.

All things considered, if I had the opportunity to choose between on-campus dorms or an apartment in the community, I would definitely opt for (go for) off-campus apartment because calm and quietness is the most important factors to me. What's more, I used to stay up late studying or watching movies. And reading good novels in a quiet place is one of my favorites. Thus, an apartment is more suitable for me.