When students move to a new school, they sometimes face problems. How can schools help these students with their problems? Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

Becoming accustomed with new environment is critical for students in order to do well in school. People usually have the ability to adapt to the new circumstances however some students find it hard to adapt to the new school. It is the responsibility of schools to help them in the early days until they feel comfortable with the new school. I will explain how schools can help students with their problems in the following essay.

First, the main problem that newcomers encounter in the new school is that they don't know anyone. Students usually find it difficult to communicate with others. Teenagers haven't experienced social situations where they can practice connecting with other people. So it's not easy for them to approach their new classmates and break the ice. Thus, schools can facilitate the process of finding friends for newcomers by forming welcoming groups or associations. For example, when I was at high school I had to change my school as my father is an army officer and we had moved to a new city. I remember my first day was terrible, I didn't know anyone, all the people were extremely unfriendly some of them looked at me like an enemy. After the first day I told my father I wouldn't go to that school. Fortunately, I went to another school, once I entered the principal introduced me to the newcomers association. In the first day I found a few good friends, after the second day I felt like I had been there for months. As it's obvious in my case, welcoming groups can help new students find friends and feel comfortable with the new situation.

Secondly, school is children’s second home and as such they will be spending a great number of hours inside these institutions. Changing school may negatively affect students' performance. Some students might have trouble with new education system. Teachers typically have their own specific way for teaching; if new instruction methods are substantially different, it will be challenging for students to get used to it. Hence, schools should provide counselors for new students to assist them with educational as well as communication problems. Take my 15-year-old nephew for example he went to a new school last year. He was one the best pupils in the former school but in the new one he failed two exams because he had not been able to adapt to the new system and settings. If the new school had had a counselor, he could have been more successful.

As I have illustrated, going to the new school is always challenging for young children and they are usually confronted with various communication and educational problems. Therefore, school authorities should help them overcome these difficulties. I believe, in this regard, forming some associations and providing guidance counselors would be useful.