Some universities require students to take classes in many subjects. Other universities require students to specialize in one subject. Which is better?

Universities play an important role in shaping students' future life. They have their own policies which determine the content of education. Some universities require students to choose many subjects while others encourage students to specialize just in one subject. As far as I'm concerned, it is a better choice to take classes in several subjects for the following reasons:

First, students will have the opportunity to broaden their scope of knowledge. There are a lot of professors in universities who are the best in their field. Why shouldn't students use their knowledge? Why should student get stuck in a certain subject? Taking different courses makes them familiar with a variety of different sciences and helps them expand their mind and think widely and develop innovative ideas. For example, one of my friends took some courses in archaeology while his primary major was computer programming. At beginning, he just was interested in archaeology and didn't think about it seriously, but it helped him to come up with the idea of developing new software which could facilitate the documentation of archaeological findings. He consulted his professor about the idea. The professor said that it was exactly what archaeologists need. He developed the software and could sell it to a company at good price. Without taking an archaeology class he would never have developed such software.

Secondly, taking courses in several subjects will provide students with more job opportunities. They can try different fields and choose the one that they are interested in the most. If they cannot succeed in achieving their goals in a field they can switch to another. More importantly, employers, today, seek for versatile employees who can perform various duties. Take my friend, Kaveh, for example, although his main major at university was business management, he took part in computer science, English language and psychology classes. After finishing university he started his career in a commercial company, specializing in computer parts, as a low rank employee who did only routine tasks such as answering phones or making arrangements for meetings, however, after only a few months his boss delegated part of her work to him. Since he had enough knowledge in computer as well as acceptable English fluency to make contact with foreign customers, could handle the functions well and shortly after that he was promoted. Now he is the manager of foreign commercial department. As you can see, having knowledge in different subjects can be useful for making progress and getting job promotions.

To sum up, I believe that taking classes in different subjects and gaining knowledge in various fields is certainly better. Students who have taken classes in many subjects will be more successful in their career and can develop great ideas. Consequently, universities should encourage their students to take classes in a number of subjects.