Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 8: Agree or disagree? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed

Coincident with most people's notion is my heartfelt belief that television advertising directed toward young children should not be allowed. Since the advent of television, advertising has permeated every corner and every minute of our life. It is not uncommon to observe the large amounts of television advertising aiming at innocent young children. My reasons for opposing advertising directed toward young children are as follows.

In the first place, advertising may waste money and cause emotional torture of parents when they fail to fulfill their children's unreasonable demands. However, nowadays, regardless of what children's true need, most of advertising are promoting a large number of products that is useless or unsuitable to children. For example, when a family is having a pleasant dinner together on Christmas Eve, a cartoon figure ---- lion king would appear on screen and hold a tub of popcorn to attract children's attention. It is a typical advertising strategy----host sale. By combining popular cartoon figures and products, advertising could draw children's attention and achieve a better sale. However, it may cause some problems; first, some children may be easy to be drawn into the content in the advertising; second, if children are attracted by it and they insist on purchasing it while parents consider the products as a piece of meaningless junk, cry and screams could drive their parents crazy. Therefore, advertising could cause problems not only for children to understand but also may bother and upset their parents.

Furthermore, advertising could mislead children for major goal of most of advertisings is to make profits whereas children between age two to five lack ability of understanding and judgment. Children are easily influenced by outside world, and admittedly television advertising play a negative role in this aspect for they tend to exaggerate the advantage of their products. For example, my two-year old younger brother is attracted to Transformer, Spiderman and Superman models. In his mind, these toys are magic, fantastic and powerful as imparted by advertising. In fact, they are just normal toys; they cannot fly, climb mountains or save people's life. Some two year old boys even are just babbling instead of speaking clearly, not to mention identifying misleading messages conveyed in the advertisings. Thus, these advertising has misled and distorted children’s' vision toward reality.

All in all, though there are some undeniable benefits of advertising for children; for example, advertising could open an amazing world of imagination and innovation for children by informing them what a fabulous Barbie or a magnificent castle is. However, these advantages could be ignored when its disadvantages are taken into consideration. It would mislead the children, distort their vision toward reality and even cause quarrels and financial burdens for parents.