Independent writing TPO 51

In modern era, which the world has surrounded by technology, answering the question of whether the movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects or not, has raised a lot of debates among academicians. Some people might hold the view that the advantages of televisions and movies are far beyond their disadvantages due to the fact that young people can learn a lot about different subjects. However, others might maintain that its negative impacts are innumerable. I personally contend that in the most cases, television and movies might have negative consequences on someones life. Among countless reasons and examples that can vindicate my point of view, I will pinpoint the two most ambiguous ones through the following paragraphs.

The first thing that juts out of my mind easily is the fact that young people are more inclined to watch movies that have brutal scenes. A recent survey conducted at the School of Psychology of Tehran University, shows that more than 60 percent of Iranian adults, tend to watch movies in the genre of action and horror which contain brutal scenes. Besides, the research purpose was to observe adults response to different genre of movies and determine whether they have long-lasting effect on their behavior or not. Finally, after five years of observation, it showed that not only the daily routine behavior of half of them that were watching movies with brutal scene changed negatively, but also the movies had other mental disabilities such as reduction in their concentrations.

Another equally important reason is that watching movies can be a waste of time. Considering the fact that young people should focus on their mental and physical improvements, their time should be occupied by activities such as going to gym, studying, spending time in different team work activities. It is worthwhile to explain the matter with a personal example; back in high school, I was really into watching movies and I used to watch three episodes of a movie every day. At that time I was not studying well and also I did not know the value of my health. After two years when my body became so weak, doctors told me that you should go to gym to practice and maintain your body strength. After that, I had to pracice every day to bring back my health and also my mind became so fresh; Therefore, my movie watching reduced a lot and it was substituted by practicing. Hence, I found that watching television is not beneficial for my progress and my health.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned arguments, these are the two reasons which can be persuasive to show that movies and televisions influence the way young people behave. Two reasons mentioned above such as watching brutal scenes of the movies affect mind negatively. Also, we can use the time of watching movies to a more beneficial and advantageous affair. All in all, movies and televisions are not having positive effect on someone's life; Therefore, we would better to reduce the time we spend watching as much as possible.