the insecticidal properties of DDT, a whit crystalline compound, were discovered in 1942. during world war II this pesticide was used to control the spread use of typhus and malaria. then in the postwar era it began to be used extensively as an agricultural insecticide. its success in eradicating malaria and controlling other insect-borne diseases dangerous both to humans and crops led it to be labeled a miracle pesticide.

its usage increased and peaked in the early 1960s. in that decade, however, studies began to show that this method of pest control had serious environmental consequences. perhaps most damaging for the reputation of DDT was the wide popularity of Rachel Carsson's book Silent Spring, which exposed the dangers of continued use of this pesticide on bird and animal species and ultimately on human beings. carson's influential expose of the harmful effects of DDT showed that several species of birds were experiencing population declines as a result of ingesting this chemical in their customary diet. research showed that birds of prey such as the bald eagle and peregrine falcon, which are high on the food chain, accumulated excessive amounts of the pesticide in their bodies, and this caused them to lay eggs with thin shells, which would break before hatching. research also showed that the human population was at risk from increased levels of liver and breast cancer caused by exposure to DDT. furthermore, environmentalists pointed out that the toxicity of this substance is not easily degraded and can remain in the environment and food chain for prolonged periods. due to these reasons, and also to the fact that DDT seemed to be losing its effectiveness on the insect populations it was designed to control, many countries banned the use of this product during the early 1960s.

The passage and the lecture hold different perceptions toward the use of DDT as pesticide. The passage mentions that pesticide is hazardous for ecosystem, but the lecture argues that DDT has no correlation at all with such phenomenon.

The substantial use of DDT has been claimed has harmed the population of several high food chain birds species such as bald eagle and peregrine falcon. According to the lecture, however, it has been reported that the number of bald eagle has already been in decline before the period of DDT. Another bird species, brown pelican, also reached its lowest number before the massive use of DDT. In contrast, the number of bald eagle is recorded highest during the 1960s, which is the peak use of DDT. Finally, the lecture suggests that the declining population of these species is due to hunting activity.

The lecture also refuses the research mentioned certain dangerous amounts of pesticide were found inside some food chain birds’ bodies. The lecture based his view on research that shows brown pelican and peregrine falcon have no problem with their reproductive system during the DDT era. Moreover, the lecture argues that pesticide is not correlated with the eggshell weakening. The lecture claims that other factors such as oil spill, mercury poisoning and other pollutants are more responsible for this issue.

Finally, the lecture disagrees with the claim saying DDT brings higher threat of cancers to humans. New research from the lecture suggests that there are no links between pesticide and human cancers.

The lecture denies all the evidence presented in the passage and suggests that the use of DDT showed no correlation at all with the phenomenon. The lecture also points out that the excessive and uncontrollable use of DDT indeed might decrease its effectiveness. Further, the lecture expresses his opinion that many countries should reconsider to use DDT as pesticide again.