The internet means that people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live.

Do you agree or disagree?

Obviously, the Internet offers a myriad of opportunities, including virtual travel that allows the exploration of any destination at any time, season, and at no cost. Nevertheless, the interest in real travel is not in steep decline as it is the source of formative experiences and unmatched sensations.

Suffice it to say that real travel is a formative experience that equips vagabonds with a sea of knowledge about other peoples and their cultures. A visit to new places makes us more versatile and intelligent and, therefore, more competitive in different facets of life. Evidently, these advantages of discovering foreign countries cannot be replaced by merely watching various video-blogs on YouTube or surfing the pictures on Instagram.

Furthermore, the ‘online journey’ conveys neither the smell nor the taste. This is what most of us strive for, crossing the Atlantic or driving along the Silk Road. You cannot taste a freshly baked French croissant or get a full lung of cool Mediterranean Sea air without being there. By the same token, moving from scorching hot summer in Italy to freezing cold winter in the North Pole during the day is feasible only thanks to real, not virtual, tours. Thus, these and many other similar examples are proof of the value of real travel experience.

Nonetheless, travel is no longer as important as it used to be because it is now possible to learn about countries online. The experience is still valuable but online information is actually likely to be more accurate and comprehensive. An individual who wants to research life in Brazil, for instance, can scroll through lifestyle blogs, watch videos of both foreigners and residents from all over the country, follow individuals from a wide segment of society on Instagram, and generally get a good sense for the country without ever setting foot there.

On top of that, not everyone can take the advantage of traveling overseas or abroad as it primarily remains the privilege of the wealthy. For traveling abroad, we are faced with the cumbersome procedures of applying for a visa, buying expensive plane tickets, or speaking a foreign language. Even if the perspective of real trips seems attractive for some, Internet travel is almost the only available alternative for others. In such cases, quality content about our planet, customs, and traditions can be easily found on Netflix, for instance.

In conclusion, despite the fact that our habits are changing, and the Internet is becoming more accessible for virtual travel, the craving for real experience has not disappeared. This means that people will keep their habit to explore the world in search of novel emotions and experiences.