The internet means that people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live.

Do you agree or disagree?

The internet is a fantastic invention of the twentieth century that, thanks to modern technologies, gives us uncountable opportunities for getting information in different fields of science, including traveling. However, there are different opinions on whether the web is really that useful for learning the ways people live in foreign countries.

One point bases on the fact that the internet has billions of websites, where everybody can post whatever they want. Eventually, such pages become databases that can provide anybody with very comprehensive information about every part of people’s lives in every distant corner of the Earth. To some extent, it is hard to disagree with this claim: in fact, millions of websites consist of information about how people live all over the world. To be specific, needless to consider the hard time we are all in nowadays. All the world is obligated to stay at home due to the quarantine, and I am not an exception. Because of this, I have used the Internet very much recently and I have seen a sea of websites that fit the mentioned description. For example, using videos on YouTube I acquired plenty of knowledge about the way people live in the Oceania islands. For sure, I would never do this without the web. Therefore, the Internet is definitely a great tool for exploring the world.

Nonetheless, there is another point of view based on the idea that the Internet fails to convey feelings and emotions. It is suggested that even though there is a great multitude of information on the Internet, it cannot give a precise description of how people live abroad because there is no way to understand emotions without interacting with people. This point, of course, also has the right to exist. Indeed, it is impossible to transfer feelings through the computer. After learning Oceania through the internet, I agree with this point of view too, because I feel that my knowledge is a bit unfinished, incomplete due to the lack of contact with native people.

Consequently, I can conclude that the given issue is very complicated. The internet can help us explore the world without spending money and time on traveling, but it cannot show the full range of information: something is doomed to be missed even with the use of the latest technology. Respectively, I cannot either agree or disagree with the given statement.